Incorporating The Music Fix
16th November 2012 09:00:00
Posted by 

Benjamin Gibbard - Former Lives

Death Cab for Cutie frontman Ben Gibbard takes a break from the band to deliver short but sweet solo album in dependable American singer/songwriter style.
To anyone of The OC generation: you won't need me to tell you about the new Benjamin Gibbard album - it's probably already on heavy rotation on your iPod, or at the very least you've sampled a few tracks after that blog your friend writes told you to. However, if you don't know what a Death Cab for Cutie is and weren't spending your weekends in 2004 scuffing your Converse and painstakingly soundtracking the latest heartbreak, then let me tell you Former Lives is a satisfying solo effort from a songwriter who up to this point has never really done a Ben Folds and branched out beyond the band. Sure, there was swoony electro side-project The Postal Service but this is the first album to bear the sole name of Benjamin Gibbard. Does he carry it off?

Pretty much, yeah. Former Lives is too slight an album to get overly excited about, but quantity/quality yada yada - although its twelve tracks barely take the listener past the 30 minute mark, the songs are solid and showcase Gibbard's already proven songwriting nous but with less navel gazing than his dayjob band. A brisk a capella intro leads us into 'Dream Song', a brisk and pleasant guitar-led listen coloured by Gibbard's plaintive vocal, direct storytelling style, catchy singalong melody and, heck, even a bit of honky tonk piano.

Proceeded by 'Teardrop Windows' and highlight 'Bigger Than Love', Gibbard sets the tone for an album that, although short, is wall-to-wall with the type of amiable, radio-friendly demi-anthems typical of American singer/songwriters but so often lacking in spark; crucially, Gibbard is aided by production that throws up a surprise or two (e.g. mariachi horns on 'Something's Rattling', a frickin' Aimee Mann guest spot) and confidence in his own musical approach. He doesn't slack off but he doesn't over-reach, which is why the underplayed likes of 'Lily' and 'Lady Adelaide' (yup, lady heartbreak is a recurring theme) land most effectively. Akin to former duet partner Jenny Lewis's solo records, this is cleverly-crafted guitar pop with an emotional core that never over-eggs its inherent smarts. In short, a Death Cab ride that definitely ain't no wreck.

Related Forum Discussions

JOSEPH FERRANTE, the ex piano tuner of George Harrison
Sonisphere Festival - theres a chance to win VIP tix
Sex & Drugs & Rock & Roll - Gollum is Ian Dury
So long, Amiestreet.
Track List
1. Shepherd s Bush Lullaby
2. Dream Song
3. Teardrop Windows
4. Bigger Than Love
5. Lily
6. Something s Rattling (Cowpoke)
7. Duncan, Where Have You Gone?
8. Oh, Woe
9. A Hard One To Know
10. Lady Adelaide
11. Broken Yolk In Western Sky
12. I m Building A Fire
-- more --
About Luke McNaney
He's written his fair amount of hyperbolic tosh about bands who were gonna take over the world and barely made it past Camden, now TMF's Luke is quite happy to sing the praises of the girls with guitars/Grade 8 piano that headline his iPod playlists. With a soft spot for geeky indie bands waiting to soundtrack the next 'Juno', as well as an unabashed love for Gaga-sized pop, he's not afraid to be uncool if it means he doesn't have to waste time skipping tracks.