Incorporating The Music Fix
9th February 2013 06:00:00
Posted by 

Music news round up: w/e 9 Feb

Fire Records are due to reissue the ultra-rare debut from Half Japanese, Half Gentlemen/Not Beasts on a limited run of 1,000 copies for Record Store Day (April 20th). The box set contains an extra LP of material not released on this format, as well as a fold out A3 poster, 32 page booklet and download card. A 3xCD version will also be available containing another CD of extra material.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Uncle Acid and the Deadbeats will release their new album Mind Control on April 15th via Rise Above Records, following their two debut London sell-out concerts at The Garage on March 22nd/23rd.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Wild Belle have announced details of a UK tour in support of the release of their debut album Isles on March 11th. Currently on tour in the US, Natalie and Elliot Bergman will play the following shows this Spring:

Sunday 31st March – Manchester Deaf Institute
Monday 1st April – Glasgow King Tuts
Wednesday 3rd April – Brighton Green Door Store
Thursday 4th April – London Cargo

-------------------------------------------------------------

Lucy Rose will play:

Sat 27 April - Leeds, Met University
Sun 28 April - Sheffield, Queens Social Club
Tue 30 April - Lincoln, Engine Shed
Wed 1 May - Preston, 53 Degrees
Fri 3 May - York, The Duchess
Sat 4 May - Newcastle, Northumbria University
Mon 6 May - Aberdeen, Lemon Tree
Tue 7 May - Inverness, Ironworks
Wed 8 May - Glasgow, Oran Mor
Thu 9 May - Belfast, Oh Yeah Music Centre
Fri 10 May - Dublin, Button Factory
Sun 12 May - Liverpool, O2 Academy 2
Tue 14 May - London, O2 Shepherds Bush Empire
Wed 15 May - Cambridge, The Junction
Thu 16 May - Oxford, O2 Academy
Fri 17 May - Falmouth, Princess Pavilion
Sun 19 May - Cardiff, Glee Club
Mon 20 May - Exeter, Lemon Grove
Tue 21 May - Southampton, The Brook
Wed 22 May - Norwich, The Waterfront
Fri 24 May - Manchester, Gorilla (Dot to Dot)
Sat 25 May - Bristol, Trinity (Dot to Dot)
Sun 26 May - Nottingham, Jongleurs (Dot to Dot)
Mon 27 May - Birmingham, Institute Library

-------------------------------------------------------------

villagers have announced a date at Electric Brixton on 21st May.

-------------------------------------------------------------

Following the unfortunate cancellation of their UK tour with US tech-metallers The Faceless due to visa issues, The Safety Fire have announced that on February 17th they will take to the stage for an intimate and free-of-charge show at London's Old Blue Last venue where they will showcase material from their forthcoming second album. The band will be joined by yet-to-be announced special guests, as well as aftershow DJ's Edmondson (who did the 'Huge Hammers' remix), and Veshch.

-------------------------------------------------------------

'Duet' will be the next single taken from Everything Everything's sophomore album Arc. The track will be out on March 24th, through RCA Victor, following their sold out February UK tour. Listen to 'Duet' below.


-------------------------------------------------------------

Kodaline have announced an 11-date UK tour for March and April. Tickets are on sale now and full details are below. They release their debut album In A Perfect World on April 1st, preceded by the The High Hopes EP on March 17th.

Saturday 23rd March – Bristol Thekla
Sunday 24th March – Norwich Arts Centre
Monday 25th March – Sheffield Leadmill
Tuesday 26th March – Manchester Academy 3
Thursday 28th March – Nottingham Rescue Rooms
Friday 29th March – Newcastle Cluny
Saturday 30th March – Leeds Brudenell Social Club
Sunday 31st March – Glasgow King Tuts
Tuesday 2nd April – Birmingham Library
Wednesday 3rd April – Portsmouth Wedgewood Rooms
Thursday 4th April – London Scala

-------------------------------------------------------------

Ahead of the release of their second album Wish To Scream on May 20th, Tribes will release new single 'How The Other Half Live' on March 24th. Check it out below.


-------------------------------------------------------------

Tomorrow's World, AKA London-based singer and musician Lou Hayter and Jean-Benoit Dunckel of the French band Air, will release their debut eponymous album on April 8th through Parisian imprint Naïve Records. Listen to their new single 'Drive' below.


-------------------------------------------------------------

Following the online success of their debut video ‘Titan’, Brighton three-piece The Physics House Band are giving the track away for free to mark their signing to Pink Mist label Blood and Biscuits. Grab your free download here. The band have also confirmed a full UK tour for April, with full details as follows:

Sat 13 Apr UK LEEDS Dirty Otter Festival
Tue 16 Apr UK MIDDLESBROUGH Mixtape 18+ FREE
Wed 17 Apr UK GLASGOW Bar Bloc 18+ £5
Thu 18 Apr UK YORK The Basement 16+ £5
Fri 19 Apr UK LIVERPOOL MelloMello 18+ £5
Sat 20 Apr UK MANCHESTER Kraak Gallery 18+ £5
Sun 21 Apr UK NORWICH Hog in Armour 18+ £5
Mon 22 Apr UK GUILDFORD Boileroom 18+ £5
Tue 23 Apr UK BRISTOL Louisiana 16+ £5
Wed 24 Apr UK WINCHESTER Railway 16+ £5
Thu 25 Apr UK SOUTHAMPTON Avondale House 16+ FREE
Fri 26 Apr UK PLYMOUTH White Rabbit 16+ FREE
Sun 28 Apr UK BRIGHTON TBC 18+ TBC
Mon 29 Apr UK LONDON Old Blue Last 18+ FREE

-------------------------------------------------------------

LA-based electronic singer-songwriter BANKS will be releasing her debut single 'Before I Ever Met You / Fall Over' on March 4th through rising London label Good Years. Listen to the track below.


-------------------------------------------------------------

Fuzzed out space rockers White Hills have announced their return to the UK and Ireland for a 15 date tour, starting April 3rd.

As has come to be expected from the highly prolific New York band, White Hills will follow-up 2012’s acclaimed Frying On This Rock with a new album later in the year, released again through Thrill Jockey Records. They will also make an appearance in Jim Jarmusch’s upcoming film Only Lovers Left Alive (starring Tilda Swinton, Tom Hiddleston, Mia Wasikowska, John Hurt and Anton Yelchin).

Immune Recordings have also issued the band's highly sought after album Abstractions & Mutations on vinyl for the first time. Originally released in 2007 as a UK tour only CD-R, the album features studio and rehearsal recordings from the bands inception.

Tour dates

3rd April Cyprus Avenue Cork
4th April Bourke's Bar Limerick
5th April Grand Social Club Dublin
6th April Aunt Annies Porterhouse Belfast
7th April Broadcast Glasgow
8th April The Brudenell Leeds
9th April The Musician Leicester
10th April The Cluny Newcastle-upon-Tyne
11th April The Continental Preston
12th April Soup Kitchen Cafe Manchester
13th April Blade Factory @ Camp and Furnace Liverpool
14th April Hare & Hounds Birmingham
15th April The Green Door Store Brighton
16th April Exchange Club Bristol
17th April Cargo London

-------------------------------------------------------------

Syd Arthur will release their new double A-Side ‘Ode To The Summer / Edge Of The Earth’ on March 11th. The band will head out on a UK tour in February, with full dates as follows:

9th - BREWERY ARTS CENTRE - KENDAL
10th - THE MAZE - NOTTINGHAM
11th - OPORTO - LEEDS
12th - BAND ON THE WALL - MANCHESTER
13th - BROADCAST - GLASGOW
14th - ROISIN DUBH - GALWAY
15th - WHELANS - DUBLIN
19th - LOUISIANA - BRISTOL
20th - SEBRIGHT ARMS - LONDON
21st - STICKY MIKES FROG BAR - BRIGHTON

-------------------------------------------------------------

Crowns will be releasing ‘Four Walls’, a track taken from the band’s debut album Stitches In The Flag, on March 11th. The band will be headlining the Old Blue Last in London on February 20th.


-------------------------------------------------------------

Ra Ra Riot have announced the release date for their third album Beta Love as March 18th for the UK on Barsuk Records. The album marks the band’s first outing as a four piece with members Wes Miles on vocals, Milo Bonacci on guitar, Mathieu Santos on bass and Rebecca Zeller on violin forming the core of the group. Beta Love’s songs are informed by the works of cyperpunk novelist William Gibson and futurist Ray Kurzweil’s musings on the technological singularity and transhumanism. Ra Ra Riot will tour extensively in 2013.

-------------------------------------------------------------

After the best part of six years honing their sound on the live circuit, Scholars are finally set to release their debut album Always Lead, Never Follow through Banquet Records on April 8th. The first single from the album, 'Black & Blue', will be out the week before.


Live dates

March
7th BRISTOL The Stag
8th BIDEFORD Palladium Club
9th PENZANCE Studio
10th PLYMOUTH White Rabbit
12th BIRMINGHAM The Sunflower Lounge
13th MANCHESTER Roadhouse
14th CHESTER The Compass
15th LEICESTER Lock 42
16th NORWICH The Stanley Arms
17th WATFORD White Lion

April
10th LONDON CAMDEN Barfly