Incorporating The Music Fix
23rd February 2013 17:51:00
Posted by 

Music news round-up: w/e Sat 23rd Feb

Willy Moon will release his debut album Here's Willy Moon on April 1st through Island Records, in standard and deluxe editions. Moon embarks on a UK tour in March ahead of the album's release, with details as follows:

05/03 - XOYO - London (Sold Out)

22/03 - O2 Academy - Birmingham

23/03 - ABC 2 – Glasgow

25/03 - Deaf Institute - Manchester
 (Sold Out)
26/03 - The Haunt - Brighton
08/05 - Electric Ballroom – London

Superball Music has announced the signing of Scottish rockers Flood Of Red to their worldwide roster. The band is currently hard at work on their sophomore album, and follow-up to 2009’s critically lauded Leaving Everything Behind. Superball Music UK label-rep Freddy Palmer had this to say about the signing: "We’ve been following Flood Of Red for a while now, and are super excited that they have found a new home with us at Superball. The progress the band has been making musically since their debut is brilliant, and we are looking forward to being the ones to share that with the world."

In the run up to last Christmas, Flood Of Red made the vast majority of their previous discography available through their website for free. You can still grab the tracks now, but they won’t be there for much longer so head over there and grab them now.

In anticipation of the release of his second album Pale Green Ghosts next month, John Grant has announced news of an extensive UK & Irish tour throughout May. All live dates below…

Wednesday 13 March – LONDON – Heaven **(SOLD-OUT)**
Thursday 2 May – BELFAST – Marquee
Friday 3 May – DUBLIN – Vicar Street
Saturday 4 May – CORK – Cyprus Avenue
Sunday 5 May – KILKENNY – Watergate Theatre
Tuesday 7 May – BATH – Komedia
Wednesday 8 May – OXFORD – Academy 2
Thursday 9 May – BIRMINGHAM - Institute – The Library
Saturday 11 May – LEEDS – Metropolitan University
Sunday 12 May – EDINBURGH – Queens Hall
Tuesday 14 May – MANCHESTER – Ritz
Wednesday 15 May – LONDON - Shepherds Bush Empire
Thursday 16 May – BRIGHTON – St Georges
Saturday 18 May – CAMBRIDGE - Junction
Sunday 19 May – NORWICH – Norfolk & Norwich Festival @ Open Up

Misty Miller is set to release the Girlfriend EP on 25th February. Here's an acoustic cover of The Turtles' 'Happy Together' in the meantime.


Here's the video for The Virginmarys' single 'Just a Ride', out on February 25th through Double Cross Records.